Malone 4th’s and Portadown 3rds fought out a tense opening thirty minutes in the Forster Cup Final at Ravenhill on Saturday evening.

However a late penalty by Portadown’s out half, Barry Gribben sparked the game to life and within minutes the Ports’ were ten points in front following an interception try from winger Gareth Hutton.

Gribben added another penalty towards the end of the third quarter and number 8 Jordan Taylor put Portadown 20 points in front scoring off a line out steal, Gribben converting.

The Portadown out half wrapped the game up with a late penalty to give a final score of Malone 0 Portadown 23. 

Malone 4th XV: Martin Griffith, James Conway, Aaron Culbert, Karl Yellop, Edmund York, Andrew McCarter, Jamie Scott, Cathal McSorley, Tristan McCorry, Will Poulter, Keith Goddard, Rodney Burns, Wayne McCormick, Mark Hobson, Dave McKinley. Replacements: Jokin Egana Bilbao, Jack McHugh, Bruce Harper.

Portadown 3rd XV: Nick Holt, Gareth Hutton, Peter Liggett, Alan Robinson, Harry Anderson, Barry Gribben, Stanley Hamilton, Aaron Winter, Aaron Murtagh, Jonathan Reid, Peter Keightley, Keith Adams, Bodean Mane, Stuart Lyness, Jordan Taylor. Replacements: Andrew Richardson, Darren Leckey, Ross Whitfield.

Photo credit Graham Service.