The teams were announced yesterday for the RBS Six Nations Match which takes place Saturday afternoon at Murrayfield, kick off 2:25pm. Live on BBC1.

It has the potential to be quite an exciting match between two sets of players coming into the game with a bit of form behind them, except for the Ulster players of course. Picking three players from a team going through one of their worst runs in the professional era could be a bit of a gamble for Joe Schmidt, particularly as two are in key positions.

Best, due to pick up his 101st cap, has been there and done it all before and should be able to put his club form behind him – please let there be no crucial line out yips! Henderson just seems to play his own game whatever the circumstances but Paddy could be feeling under a bit of pressure. 

It’s a tad unfair, as halfbacks can only distribute the ball that the forwards win. How well and how quickly that ball is presented obviously determines what they can do with it, but it’s Paddy that will be in the spotlight and if the forwards are not functioning it’ll be him getting the blame. 

That forward battle could be fascinating. Scotland have gone down the road of a fast paced offloading game with fairly high risks whereas Ireland favour the choke tackle and brute force and these comparitively negative tactics may have had their day. Personally I would have been happier if O’Brien and van der Flyer swapped places. 

The FRU Predicts: The interpretation of the new tackle laws, under the intense spotlight that accompanies the Six Nations tournament, could determine the outcome of this game and I can easily picture Ireland finishing this game without a full team on the pitch. I think the Scots might pinch this one. 

Stuart Hogg 15 Rob Kearney
Sean Maitland 14 Keith Earls
Huw Jones 13 Garry Ringrose
Alex Dunbar 12 Robbie Henshaw
Tommy Seymour 11 Simon Zebo
Finn Russell 10 Paddy Jackson
Greig Laidlaw 9 Conor Murray
Allan Dell 1 Jack McGrath
Fraser Brown 2 Rory Best
Zander Fagerson 3 Tadhg Furlong
Richie Gray 4 Iain Henderson
Jonny Gray 5 Devin Toner
Ryan Wilson 6 CJ Stander
Hamish Watson 7 Sean O’Brien
Josh Strauss 8 Jamie Heaslip
Ross Ford 16 Niall Scannell
Gordon Reid 17 Cian Healy
Simon Berghan 18 John Ryan
Tim Swinson 19 Ultan Dillane
John Barclay 20 Josh van der Flier
Ali Price 21 Kieran Marmion
Duncan Weir 22 Ian Keatley
Mark Bennett 23 Tommy Bowe