On Friday 19 and Saturday 20th October Methodist College Belfast will host a 16 team schools rugby tournament at Pirrie Park as part of the College’s 150th year anniversary celebrations.

The tournament will feature top schools sides from Ulster, Leinster and Munster with English side Mount St Mary’s and Welsh side Cymoedd College also taking part.

The teams will compete for the Eric Lindsay Memorial Trophy in four Pools of four during Friday with the first round matches kicking off at 10:00am and the final set of matches kicking off at 3:00pm.

The matches will be played at 15 minutes each way with a 5 minute break allowing the event to rattle through 24 games over four pitches throughout the day.

The teams represent the great and the good in schools rugby in Ireland with current Provincial Schools Champions Campbell College (Ulster), Blackrock College (Leinster) and Glenstal Abbey (Munster) all taking part. In all there will be six Ulster sides and four each from Munster and Leinster competing against the English and Welsh representatives.

The Pools for Day 1 are below and more details can be found here.

Pool A Pool B
Ballymena Academy, Ballymena (Ulster) Belfast Royal Academy, Belfast (Ulster)
Clongowes Wood, Dublin (Leinster) Crescent College, Limerick (Munster)
Glenstal Abbey, Murroe (Munster) Royal Belfast Academical Institution, Belfast (Ulster)
Methodist College, Belfast (Ulster) St Michael’s College, Dublin (Leinster)
Pool C Pool D
Blackrock College, Dublin (Leinster) Belvedere College, Dublin (Leinster)
Campbell College, Belfast (Ulster) Christian Brothers, Cork (Munster)
Mount St Mary’s, Derbyshire (England) Cymoedd College, Rhonda (Wales)
Rockwell College, Cashel (Munster) Wallace High School, Lisburn (Ulster)


The schedule for Day 1 is shown below.


1 Comment