Ulster U19 conspired to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory in this one as a late try from Leinster U19 claimed the game at Newfore on Saturday afternoon.

Leinster put a lot of pressure on Ulster for the majority of the first half but resolute defence prevented them from adding to a 3-0 lead.

Ulster stepped the intensity up a notch and scored a try thanks to No.8 David McCann crossed from a pick and go. Conor Rankin converted to give Ulster a 7-3 lead at the break.

The home side continued where they left off and their dominance paid off 12 minutes after the interval. A good carry from Bangor Grammar’s Riley Westwood brought Ulster to within five metres of the Leinster half and Adam Hanna hit a hard line to score just beside the posts.

With Ulster leading 14-10 in the final minutes, a yellow card and silly mistakes handed the victory to Leinster.

The win gave Leinster the Interprovincial championship.

Ulster U19: Conor Rankin (Campbell College, Belfast), Ethan McIlroy (Methodist College, Belfast), Ben Power (Queen’s University RFC), Angus Adair (Capt) (Royal Belfast Academical Institution), Chris Larmour (Methodist College, Belfast), Thomas Armstrong (Methodist College, Belfast), Lewis Finlay (Ballynahinch RFC), Adam Hanna (Banbridge Academy), Jack Treanor (City of Armagh RFC), Ben McCrossan (Bangor Grammar School), Conor McMenamin (Letterkenny RFC), Stephen Kelly (Letterkenny RFC), Riley Westwood (Bangor Grammar School), Ryan O’Neill (City of Armagh RFC), David McCann (Banbridge RFC). Replacements: Bryn Davies (Rainey Endowed School), George Saunderson (Sullivan Upper School), Robbie Mathers (Banbridge RFC), Jack Stinson (Campbell College, Belfast), David Brown (Coleraine Grammar School), Charlie Worth (Royal School, Armagh), Robbie Johnston (Queen’s University RFC), Robbie Armstrong (Methodist College, Belfast), Greg Hutley (Down High School).

Photo credit – Bob Given Photography