Ulster A travel to Llandovery in the Welsh Valleys on Saturday to play Scarlets Premier Select in thier last Pool 5 match in the British and Irish Cup.

After a shock defeat of Scarlets PS by Hartpury RFC last week, combined with Ulster A’s win over Cornish Pirates. the team travel with the job pretty much done as far as qualification is concerned. There is still plenty to play for however as Ulster have every incentive to get a bonus point win as they battle it out with Bedford Blues for that all important fourth ranked qualifier which would guarantee a home quarter final.

Thankfully this season there has been limited chopping and changing of the squad and the team Managers, Kieran Campbell and Willie Anderson, have worked hard to bring a strong team ethic into the group which has stood them in good stead when matches have been tight.

Changes have again been minimised for this game with Luke Marshall being parachuted in for game time while Angus Kernohan replaces Rob Lyttle on the wing with Lyttle called up to the seniors. There should be no overall loss in quality in the back line provided Marshall remembers he is part of a team and doesn’t try and do it all himself.

The forwards have been impressive this season and they remain unchanged.

i expect this to be a strong enough side to get the win, whether they will get the bonus point as well depends on what  sort of Scarlets side turns up and that’ll depend on their motivation They would need an extraordinary set of results to progress, so I’d guess they have parked that idea, but sometimes the most dangerous sides are those with nothing to play for.

Scarlets PS   Ulster A
Tom Rogers 15 Jack Owens
Morgan Griffiths 14 Angus Kernohan
Corey Baldwin 13 Luke Marshall
Rhodri Jones 12 Callum Patterson
Ryan Conbeer 11 Aaron Cairns
Jacob Botica 10 Peter Nelson
Johnathan Evans 9 Jonny Stewart
Dylan Evans 1 Tommy O’Hagan
Emyr Phillips 2 John Andrew ©
Javan Sebastian 3 Tom O’Toole
Josh Helps 4 Peter Browne
Chris Long 5 Clive Ross
Lewis Elis -Jones 6 Caleb Montgomery
Stuart Worrall 7 Matthey Agnew
Jack Condy © 8 Marcus Rea
Taylor Davies 16 Zack McCall
Steff Thomas 17 Eric O’Sullivan
Simon Gardiner 18 Matthew Dalton
Dan Davis 19 Aaron Hall
Alex Schwartz 20 Greg jones
Jack Maynard 21 Michael Stronge
Scott Lloyd 22 Rory Butler