The teams have been announced earlier this morning for the Hartpury RFC v Ulster A British and Irish Cup Pool 5 Match which takes place tomorrow afternoon, 2:30 pm at Hartpury College.

I must say I’m pleased with the Ulster a side that Kieran Campbell and Willie Anderson have selected, it has much more of a team look about it and if they can keep the core of this side together throughout the remainder of the competition they have a chance to do well in what will be this tournaments last season.

The starting XV features five recent Ireland U20 players in Rob Lyttle, Johnny McPhillips, Jonny Stewart, Adam McBurney and Greg Jones and a further two in the replacements in Zac McCall and Marcus Rea. Greg Jones gets the captain’s armband in a season that the former Leinster underage player is justifying his move to Ulster.

I’m particularly pleased to see the front row of O’Hagan, McBurney and O’Toole in tandem in this one for the first time this season, I believe, and Peter Browne and Clive Ross add just the right amount of experience in the pack without being overly flash, if you know what I mean.

FRU Favourites Johnny McPhillips and Jonny Stewart finally get together at half back. It was something I was looking forward to in the 2017 U20 Championship but unfortunately McPhillips was withdrawn due to injury. Both are players with an abundance of talent but they stand out, to me anyway, in their willingness to continually try to improve their game.

B&I Cup Pool 5 Current Standings

Cornish Pirates 2 2 0 0 59 33 26 1 0 9
Scarlets Premiership Select 2 1 0 1 42 45 -3 0 1 5
Ulster A 2 1 0 1 38 42 -4 0 0 4
Hartpury College 2 0 0 2 40 59 -19 0 1 1


Ulster have to look at these two games as a chance to get back in the mix in Pool 5. With Hartpury out of form and turning their attention and resources to their league campaign, our boys have every chance to bag the ten points from these two games and set up a probable pool decider against Cornish Pirates at Shaws Bridge in January.

Just the small matter of a jaunt to Llandovery RFC at the end of January for the final pool game against Llanelli Premier Select, and we all know how easy those trips are. 😆

Yes, I like this side, glad we’ll have a photographer over for this one. Catch the report and pictures on Monday.

Hartpury RFC   Ulster A
Ed Coulson 15 Jack Owens
Alex Ducker 14 David Busby
Tom Seabrook 13 Callum Patterson
Luke Eves 12 Rory Butler
Ed Sheldon 11 Rob Lyttle
Lloyd Evans 10 Johnny McPhillips
Harry Cochrane 9 Jonny Stewart
Dan Murphy 1 Tommy O’Hagan
Will Crane 2 Adam McBurney
Josh Ibuanopke 3 Tom O’Toole
BJ Edwards 4 Peter Browne
Rhys Oakley © 5 Matthew Dalton
Iain Grieve 6 Clive Ross
Aaron Hinkley 7 Aaron Hall
Darrel Dyer 8 Greg Jones ©
Joe Mullis 16 Zack McCall
Mike Flook 17 Eric O’Sullivan
Tom Heard 18 John McCusker
Joe Quinn 19 Marcus Rea
Matt Gilbert 20 Aaron Cairns
Mike Wilcox 21 Dave Shanahan
James Williams 22 Angus Kernohan