The teams were announced earlier this afternoon for the 2017 Women’s Rugby World Cup 7th Place Play Off match between Ireland Women and Wales Women.

The match has added significance as the winner will gain automatic qualification for the next World Cup. Losing, however wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world for either with both sides likely to qualify through their European placement in the Six Nations anyway I believe.

It’s been a difficult tournament for the hosts and this match is unlikely to be different. All the Irish backs, outside of Nora Stapleton and Alison Miller, have limited international XV’s experience against what is likely to be an aggressive Wales who would love nothing better than getting a win over Ireland on home soil.

Could go either way, though Ireland’s pack should see them through.

The match kicks off at 2:00 pm on Saturday. It will not be broadcast in Northern Ireland unless you can get RTE or Eir Sports. It should however be possible to pick up a live feed at World Rugby or on their Facebook feed.

Ireland    Wales
Hannah Tyrrell 15 Elinor Snowsill
Eimear Considine 14 Elen Evans
Katie Fitzhenry 13 Gemma Rowland
Jeamie Deacon 12 Hannah Jones
Alison Miller 11 Jasmine Joyce
Nora Stapleton 10 Robyn Wilkins
Nicole Cronin 9 Keira Bevan
Lindsay Peat 1 Caryl Thomas
Cliodhna Moloney 2 Carys Phillips (c)
Ailis Egan 3 Amy Evans
Ciara Cooney 4 Siwan Lillicrap
Marie Louise Reilly 5 Melissa Clay
Paula Fitzpatrick (c) 6 Alisha Butchers
Ciara Griffin 7 Rachel Taylor
Heather O’Brien 9 Sioned Harries
Leah Lyons 16 Kelsey Jones
Ilse Van Staden 17 Gwenllian Pyrs
Ciara O’Connor 18 Cerys Hale
Sophie Spence 19 Shona Powell-Hughes
Ashleigh Baxter 20 Lleucu George
Larissa Muldoon 21 Sian Moore
Sene Naoupu 22 India Berbillion
Mairead Coyne 23 Jodie Evans