The teams have been announced for the B&I Cup Quarter Final between Munster A and Ulster A which takes part at Musgrave Park, Cork on Saturday afternoon. 

Ulster A everpresent Mark Best captains the Ulster side from centre where he partners Jack Owens.  Aaron Cairns returns from injury to take up his place on the wing. He forms the back three with Conor Kelly and David Busby. Busby’s down for both this and the Ulster v Zebre match so there may be changes.  

With Jonny Stewart on International duty and Johnny McPhillips injured, Ulster draft in Dave Shanahan and Brett Herron at halfback.

Tommy O’Hagan makes a welcome return at loosehead alongside Jonny Murphy and Ricky Lutton. Pete Browne adds a bit of grunt in the boiler room alongside Alex Thompson. Nick Timoney and Conor Joyce take up their usual spots in the back row. Matthew Rea comes in at No 8 for Lorcan Dow. 

It’s a strong enough looking Ulster A side though they are missing a few regulars through injury and U20’s action. They had built up a solid core and a good team ethos throughout the B&I Cup so hopefully that will remain! It’s certainly something they’ll need down in Cork at the old Musgrave Park, which is substantially less welcoming than Thomond! 

It’s an interesting game. I wish I had time to go down and see. You never know, I might yet hop in the car early  Sunday morning! 

The FRU Predicts: The withdrawal of London Welsh from Munster’s group left the home side a few matches short in the pool stages. I suspect the extra matches will hold Ulster in good stead for an away win. 

Stephen Fitzgerald 15 David Busby
Dan Goggin 14 Aaron Cairns
Sam Arnold 13 Jack Owens
Cian Bohane 12 Mark Best
Greg O’Shea 11 Conor Kelly
David Johnston 10 Brett Herron
John Poland 9 Dave Shanahan
Peter McCabe 1 Tommy O’Hagan
Kevin O’Byrne 2 Jonny Murphy
Brian Scott 3 Ricky Lutton
John Madigan 4 Pete Browne
Darren O’Shea 5 Alex Thompson
Sean O’Connor 6 Nick Timoney
Conor Oliver 7 Conor Joyce
Robin Copeland 8 Matthew Rea
Duncan Casey 16 Zack McCall
Liam O’Connor 17 Ross Kane
Rory Burke 18 John Donnan
Bailey Faloon 19 Conall Boomer
John Foley 20 Andy Magrath
Abrie Griesel 21 Mark Keane
Stephen McMahon 22 Josh Jordan