John_s_version_1South African coach Allister Coetzee has named a new-look squad for the upcoming three match series against Ireland. 

The new appointment has marked the start of his tenure with the introduction of nine uncapped players of which I know little or nothing but the general consensus over on out friends at Sharksworld appears to be that it’s a reasonable selection. 

Speaking on his selection Coetzee said:

“The selection of this squad was based on rewarding form and exposing young and upcoming local players to the Springboks, which is why priority was given to locally based players. We have many experienced players still available for selection, but we just felt that the time was right to look at the next generation.

“Our depth was obviously tested in certain positions, but this also created opportunities for new players, who have found their feet at Vodacom Super Rugby level, and to make the step up to the Springboks.”

With up to 25 players unavailable due to illness, injury or Sevens involvement it’s no surprise that there will be some experimentation but there is still the basis of a strong team among the newcomers. 

Ulster’s latest signing, Marcell Coetzee is among those on the the extensive injury list and Ruan Pienaar has asked not to be considered for the June series. 


South Africa Squad

The squad consists of seventeen forwards and fourteen backs. 

Forwards Backs
Pieter-Steph du Toit Garth April*
Eben Etzebeth Patrick Lambie
Siya Kolisi Lwazi Mvovo
Frans Malherbe JP Pietersen
Bongi Mbonambi* Wille le Roux
Sikhumbuzo Notshe* Ruan Combrinck*
Scarra Ntubeni* Faf de Klerk*
Jaco Kriel* Elton Jantjies
Julian Redelinghuys Lionel Mapoe
Warren Whiteley Jesse Kriel
Trevor Nyakane Rudy Paige
Adriaan Strauss Jan Serfontein
Lood de Jager Damian de Allende
Steven Kitshoff* Nic Groom*
Francois Louw  
Tendai Mtawarira  
Duane Vermeulen * Denotes new cap