Conor Gaston breaks clear for Dungannon against Queens.

Dungannon got their League campaign back on track with a convincing 12 – 42 win against Queens at the Dub on a wet, wet, wet Saturday afternoon.

The visitors got off to a great start with Chris Cochrane sprinting over before the teams had settled. Michael Lawton converted and shortly after popular prop Mark Farquhar dived over for Dungannon’s second try with Lawton again adding the extras.

Dungannon kept the pressure on with two Lawton penalties to take a 0 – 20 lead but Queens finally hit back with out half Stewart forcing his way over in the corner for a five pointer.

Queen’s continued to press and came close on several occasions however it was Dungannon to get the next score following a break  involving Conor Gaston and Paul Magee that sent Cochrane over for his second try of the game. Lawton’s conversion rebounded off an upright bringing the half time score to Queens 5 Dungannon 25

Cochrane completed his hat trick shortly after the restart when he finished off a Kieran Campbell inspired move to touchdown on the left.  Lawton converted and Cochrane almost scored a forth try minutes later but the bounce of the ball checked his momentum and the Queen’s defence covered the danger.

Dungannon went further ahead after good work from Jason Bloomfield, Glen Telford and Michael Lawton who put Conor Gaston into space for the visitors fifth try. Lawton converted pushing the score along to 5 – 37.

Queen’s hit back late in the game when Paul Karayiannis broke a tackle and ran through for a try converted by David Cartmill but the visitors had the last word with Gaston sprinting clear from 30meteres toclai mhis second score of the afternoon.  Lawton converted to bring the final score to Queens 12 Dungannon 44.

Dungannon: Conor Gaston, Michael Lawton, Paul Magee, Ethan Allen, Glen Telford, Christopher Cochrane, Kieran Campbell, James Shiells, Jason Bloomfield, Steven Sinnamon, Glen Sinnamon, Michael Reid, Adam Duhig, Mark Farquhar, Aaron Fry, Paul McCarroll, Mark Riddell, Timothy Smith, Stuart McKenzie, Oisin Hennessy.