Enniskillen Ladies, Club of the Year

Enniskillen Ladies, Club of the Year

Ulster Women recognised the growth of ladies rugby in the Province last night when they held their first annual awards night at Belfast Harlequins Rugby Club.

The event was organised by Natalie Bryant and expertly compared by Michael McAteer who kept the proceedings ticking over with his rye humour! Other special guests were Joy Sparkes (Women’s Development Officer, Ulster Branch), David Boyd (Chairman, Domestic Games Committee), Robin Cole (Junior Vice Present, Ulster Branch), Dr Johnnie Neary (Chairman, Ulster Women’s Rugby Committee).

There were three hotly contested awards up for grabs on the night, the nominations and the results as follows: –

Under 19 Player of the Year.

Nominations: Nikki Caughey (Malone), Alannah Fowler (Virginia), Ashleigh Baxter (Belfast Harlequins), Gemma McCutcheon (Enniskillen), Eimear Corrigan (Enniskillen).

Winner: Nikki Caughey (Malone)

Senior Player of the Year

Nominations: Lauren Day (Cooke), Eliza Downey (Cooke), Ashleigh Baxter (Belfast Harlequins), Brenda Brogan (Enniskillen), Harriet Gibson (Enniskillen), Noreen Neathercott (City of Derry).

Winner: Lauren Day (Cooke, Ulster, Ireland)

Club of the Year

Nominations: Malone RFC, Virginia RFC, City of Derry RFC, Ballymoney RFC, Enniskillen RFC.

Winners: Enniskillen RFC.